John Shaw Medal 2014

Roads Australia is delighted to announce that the 2014 John Shaw Medallist is John Holland Advisory Board Chairman, Janet Holmes à Court.

The award was announced at the gala John Shaw Medal Dinner, held at the Sydney Town Hall in May.

Speaking from overseas, Mrs Holmes à Court said it was a great honour to receive such an important award.

“It has been a tremendous privilege and pleasure to have been involved in the engineering and construction industry for over 20 years, and to have been part of teams providing some of Australia's most significant transport infrastructure, such as EastLink in Melbourne, Airport Link in Brisbane, the Urban Superway in Adelaide and the Alice Springs to Darwin Railway, to name just a few projects,” she said.

John Holland Group Managing Director, Glenn Palin, said Mrs Holmes à Court’s contribution spanned not only road construction and design, but also safety, research and the community.

“Janet’s contribution to safety has been recognised within John Holland with the Annual Janet Holmes à Court Safety award,” Mr Palin said.

“She has long championed improvements in the way we plan, design, construct and operate within our built environment. For example, on the EastLink project, Janet ensured the highest standards of urban design in structures and took an active interest in the landscaping solution which provided quality outcomes not previously seen on Victorian roads.”


 The Award

The John Shaw Medal honours an industry champion who has made a lasting contribution to Australia's roads.

 The following conditions and guidelines apply:

  • Field of contribution - The field of contribution must be in the area of road transport. Indicative areas of contribution include road construction, design, administration, safety, services, freight, research, and policy development. There must be a clear connection between the field of contribution and road transport.
  • Level of contribution - The contribution must be outstanding and this will be assessed on the basis of its impact on the industry and the community. The area of unique impact is to be specifically identified in the nomination, in a form which can be incorporated in the citation.
  • Breadth of contribution - The extent to which the contribution was valued beyond any one section of the Industry and beyond jurisdiction (eg State). The contribution needs to be of National or International significance.
  • Personal achievement - It must be demonstrated that the candidate's contribution significantly reflects personal endeavour, as distinct from the work of others. The John Shaw Medal is not awarded in recognition of general corporate achievement.
  • Originality - Candidates will also be assessed on the originality and unique quality of their contribution. If the contribution is, for example, in a field of research, the spark of ingenuity must be identified. If the candidate's claims are in policy or management areas, the areas of leadership which distinguish the candidate must be clearly specified.
  • Durability - Candidates will also be assessed on the extent to which their contribution is likely to endure and be remembered by future generations. Contribution to corporate success alone is not likely to meet this criterion.
  • Further potential - Ideally candidates for the award will still have further contributions to make to the industry and the community. It is expected that the award will recognise their achievements to date and thereby enhance the opportunity for the candidate to make yet a further contribution.

The John Shaw Medallist is chosen by a Commitee of past winners. In addition to accepting nominations from industry, the Committee at its discretion may also consider candidates who emerge from its own discussions.

If you are aware of a suitable candidate for the Award in 2014 we would be delighted to receive a nomination addressing each of the selection criteria. Please confirm that the nominee is aware of and is prepared to accept the nomination.

For more information or to discuss, contact Ian Webb.


Past recipients

Amongst the past recipients of this prestigious award are:

  • Lauchlan McIntosh AM, Australasian College of Road Safety (ACRS)
  • Ken Mathers, Linking Melbourne Authority
  • Greg Hallam, Local Government Association of Queensland
  • Arvo Tinni, Abigroup 
  • Dr Max Lay, ConnectEast 
  • Colin Jordan, RACV
  • His Excellency Dr Ken Michael AC, Governor of Western Australia
  • Don Aitken, Dept of Main Roads WA (dec.)
  • Erik Finger, Qld Dept of Main Roads
  • Geoff Youdale, RTA NSW
  • Tom Wilmot, Stabilisation Services Ltd
  • Maurie Benveniste, Transport SA (dec.)
  • John Bethune, AAPA
  • Rod Payze, Department of Transport SA
  • Neil Doyle, Queensland Main Roads
  • Peter Balfe, VicRoads
  • Dick Wharton, Qld Main Roads
  • John Oliver, ARRB


John Shaw's Contribution to Roads

 John (JAL) Shaw was recruited to the service of the then  recently established Main Roads Board of New South Wales soon after graduating in civil engineering at Sydney University in 1925.

In 1928 he was included amongst the first six divisional engineer appointments made by the Board, taking up a posting at Glen Innes. He served in Newcastle and Sydney before enlisting for service with the AIF in 1940.

During his military service, Johh Shaw won the Distinguished Service Order.

He was captured by the Japanese and spent several years in Changi Prisoner of War Camp where he won the respect and affection of his fellow prisoners through his special efforts to improve their lot.

On returning to civilian life after the cessation of hostilities, John Shaw resumed duties with the then Department of Main Roads. He rose to Commissioner, holding that office from 1962 to 1967.

He was Assistant Commissioner and Commissioner during the period of reconstruction which followed the war years, and was involved in many of the exciting works such as the Gladesville Bridge which were undertaken during that time.

After his retirement John Shaw served as a Commissioner of the City of Sydney and was National President of the Australian Road Federation. He is the only Australian ever to have been honoured by the International Road Federation as "Man of the Year".

The John Shaw Award, which was initiated in the Queensland Region of the Australian Road Federation, acknowledges his outstanding contribution to roads.