menu click

Roads Australia Event Details

2018 RA - IRF Regional Conference for Asia and Australasia (Sydney)

31/05/2018 08:30 to 01/06/2018 15:00

Venue: ICC (International Convention Centre) Sydney

The Roads Australia – IRF Regional Conference brought together over two days (May 31 and June 1) nearly 300 leaders from across Australia, Asia and the Pacific to reflect on the issues that will shape infrastructire delivery and transport services over coming decades.

Program highlights and speakers

Day One

9.00am: Welcome – David Stuart-Watt, President, Roads Australia 

9.10am: Opening – Kiran Kapila, Chairman, IRF Geneva  

9.20am: Impact of disruptive technologies and the changing landscape of the transport industry -  Susan Anderson, GM ANZ, Uber

9.45am: International keynote - Christian Labrot, President, International Road Transport Union

10.45am: Panel Session – Our automated transport future

  • Chair: David Stuart-Watt, President, Roads Australia 
  • Randy Iwasaki, Executive Director, Contra Costa Transportation Authority, California USA
  • Suzanne Murtha, Vice-President, Connect and Automated Vehicles, AECOM
  • Philip Davies, CEO, Infrastructure Australia

1.30pm: Reshaping our cities

  • Chair: Susanna Zammataro, Executive Director, IRF Geneva
  • Joe Keen Poon, Tech Adviory MD, Smart Cities, Surbana Jurong
  • Rob Roggema, Professor of Sustainable Urban Environments, UTS

3.00pm: CEO's interactive panel session

  • Chair: Neil Scales, Director-General, Queensland Transport and Main Roads
  • Juan Santamaria, MD and CEO, CPB Contractors
  • Emma Thomas, Director-General, Transport Canberra and City Services
  • Ailie MacAdam, MD, Bechtel Infrastructure Australia


9.00am: Lessons from the coalface

  • Chair: Clare Gardiner-Barnes, Deputy Secretary, Transport for NSW
  • Dennis Cliche, CEO, Sydney Motorway Corporation
  • Graeme Newton, CEO, Cross River Rail
  • Duncan Elliott, CEO, North East Link Authority

10.10am: Indian National Highways Plan - S K Mishra, Chief GM (Tech), NHAI

11.00am: Concurrent session: The next era of mobility

  • Chair: Lauren Streifer, Roads Australia
  • Monica Ryu, LEK
  • Ryan Falconer, Arup
  • Devina Hassanaly,Systra

11.00am: Concurrent session:Getting more out of our infrastructure

11.00am: Concurrent session: Transforming roads

11.00am: Concurrent session: Road safety

12.30pm: Closing lunch - Professor Tim Flannery

Our Sponsors






Image Gallery